Cric8fanatic publishes Fresh, Credible, and Relatable news and statistics about Cricket. It focuses on Indian Cricket, Women's Premier League, IPL, etc.

Fans Demand Big Changes in India Team’s Playing 11 for the Super 4 Clash vs Afghanistan

Fans demand big changes in the playing 11 of Team India for the Super 4 clash vs Afghanistan of Asia Cup 2022. 

In the form of a shocker for the Indian Team and the Indian fans, Team India have suffered back-to-back losses in the Super 4 stage of Asia Cup 2022. Having lost to Pakistan by 5 wickets, India lost another one to Sri Lanka by 4 wickets. With two losses in a row, Team India are now on the verge of an embarrassing elimination from the tournament.  

After losing the second toss in a row, Sri Lankan captain also asked Team India to bat first. The start was a dreadful one for Team India as they lost 2 wickets for just 13 runs. From there, India made a strong comeback to be 149/5 in 17 overs. With 3 overs to go, India’s lower-order flunked to pressure as they ended on 173/8 in 20 overs.

In reply, Sri Lankan openers got Sri Lanka off to a flying start scoring 97 for the 1st wicket in just 11 overs. From there, India made another comeback to restrict Sri Lanka to 110/4 in 14 overs. With 6 overs to, Sri Lankan lower-order held their nerves, and chased the target with 1 ball to go.

Asia Cup 2022: India vs Sri Lanka – Super 4 Match Summary  

India: 173/8 from 20 overs

Rohit Sharma: 72(41) // Suryakumar Yadav: 34(29)

Dilshan Madushanka: 3/24 //  Dasun Shanaka: 2/26

Sri Lanka: 174/4 from 20 overs

Kusal Mendis: 57(36) // Pathum Nissanka: 52(37)

Yuzvendra Chahal: 3/34 // Ravichandran Ashwin: 1/32 

Result: Sri Lanka won by 6 Wickets

Twitter Reactions:

Fans weren’t too pleased with the team selection, and demanded the BCCI to make a few changes in the final super 4 match vs Afghanistan.

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on India Team’s playing 11 for the Super 4 clash vs Afghanistan in Asia Cup 2022? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: Explained: Asia Cup 2022 Final Qualification Scenario for all Teams

© Cric8fanatic