Cricket News

India vs Australia 2023: Full Squad and Players List for Both Teams

Rohit Sharma back to lead as we look at the official squad and players list for India vs Australia 2023 Test series. 

The BCCI recently announced the official squad for the final Test series before the blockbuster World Test Championship finale. The Border Gavaskar Trophy is going to witness an epic clash with India taking on Australia In probably a mock finale series. 

BCCI has announced a 17-member squad for Team India for the first two Tests with Rohit Sharma at the helm. Rohit had missed the Bangladesh series due to injury, and KL Rahul led the team in his absence. But Rohit is now back to lead with KL Rahul being assigned as his deputy. 

The squad sees a few entrants and a few unfortunate misses. The big misses from the first two Tests are Wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant and Pacer Jasprit Bumrah. While Pant had met with an accident earlier, he is yet to recover from it. Whereas Bumrah is still at NCA, and will need some more time to recover. 

From the new entrants to the squad, we have wicket-keeper Ishan Kishan in place of Rishabh Pant. Mohammed Shami comes back from the injury in place of Shardul Thakur. Suryakumar Yadav gets a place in the squad as an x-factor player based on his recent T20 exploits. At the same time, Ravindra Jadeja is back in the squad in place of Saurabh Kumar.

The rest of the players remain the same with Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Axar Patel there. Meanwhile, Jaydev Unadkat was able to hold on to his place with Bumrah not there. So, here’s the official squad for Team India for the 1st and 2nd Test vs Australia. 

India vs Australia 2023: Official Squad and Players List for Team India for 1st and 2nd Test

Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul [vc], Rohit Sharma [c], Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat [wk], Ishan Kishan [wk], Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj & Umesh Yadav

For Australia, the team is filled with impact players. It’s a full-strength squad with the likes of Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, David Warner, Pat Cummins, and Josh Hazlewood in the ranks. So, here’s the official squad for Australia for the 2023 Test series vs India. 

India vs Australia 2023: Official Test Squad and Players List for Australia

David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Matthew Renshaw, Peter Handscomb, Steve Smith [vc], Travis Head, Usman Khawaja,  Alex Carey [wk], Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Lance Morris,  Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson,  Nathan Lyon, Pat Cummins [c], Scott Boland & Todd Murphy  

The Test series begins on February 9 at Nagpur. The other Three Tests shall be played at Delhi, Dharamsala, and Ahmedabad. So, here’s the official Test Series schedule for India vs Australia 2023 Test series. 

India vs Australia 2023 Test Series Schedule:

  • 1st Test – Feb 9-13 @ Nagpur
  • 2nd Test  – Feb 17-21 @ Delhi
  • 3rd Test  – March 01-05 @ Dharamsala
  • 4th Test  – March 9-13 @ Ahmedabad

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the squad for Team India for the test series vs Australia? Please email your comments to 

ALSO READ: India vs New Zealand 2023: Official ODI and T20 Series Squad Players

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.

3 thoughts on “India vs Australia 2023: Full Squad and Players List for Both Teams

Comments are closed.