Cricket News

India vs New Zealand 2023 T20 Series Combined Best 11

Shubman Gill, the standout performer as we look at the combined best performing 11 for the India vs New Zealand 2023 T20 Series. 

After a dominant performance in the ODI series, Team India end the T20 series with a dominant 2-1 win over New Zealand. Team India’s current T20 captain, Hardik Pandya is leading his troops well, and it is positively reflected in the performance of its young players. 

The New Zealand T20 series was the last T20I affair for Team India before the team plays the IPL 2023. So, how did the players of both the teams perform? Well, let’s analyze their performance, and find out the combined best performing 11 for the 2023 India vs New Zealand T20 Series. 

Stats Wizard Analysis Methodology:

Batting: As always, we have analyzed the batting performances basis the batting rating calculated from the overall aspect of the game such as runs scored, consistency, the number of match-winning & good knocks, acceleration bonus, and power-hitting bonus. 

Bowling: We have analyzed the bowling performances basis the bowling rating calculated from the overall aspect of the game such as wickets taken, consistency, the number of match-winning and good spells, number of maidens bowled, and economy rate bonus. 

Overall, the team of 11 is selected basis the performance rating, and only players who have performed well in their respective positions are selected. The team combination of 2 openers, 3-4 middle-order players, 1-2 all-rounders, 3 pacers, and at least 1 spinner is given precedence in the squad. Also, only players who have played at least 2 matches are considered for evaluation. 

#1: Shubman Gill [India] – 10

Inns: 3 // Runs: 144 // SR: 184.6 // HS: 126*

The leading run-getter of the series, Shubman Gill had a poor start to the series with scores reading 7 and 11. However, Gill reserved the best for the series decider as revived himself to play a knock to remember. Gill scored a stunning 126 off 63 balls – the highest T20I score by an Indian batter. 

#2: Devon Conway [New Zealand] – 4.2

Inns: 3 // Runs: 64 // SR: 125.5 // HS: 51

Devon Conway was New Zealand’s second-best batter having scored a valuable 50 in the first T20I. But that’s what it was as Conway struggled in the 2nd and 3rd T20I with scores reading 11 and 1 respectively. Overall, Conway gets a rating of 4.2 for his performance.

#3: Rahul Tripathi [India] – 4

Inns: 3 // Runs: 57 // SR: 123.9 // HS: 44

Similar to Gill, Tripathi had a quiet start to the T20 series with scores reading 0 and 13. But he played an intentful knock of 44 off 22 in the 3rd T20I that gave India much-needed momentum. Overall, the attacking knock in the 3rd T20I helped Tripathi earn a rating of 4. 

#4: Suryakumar Yadav [India] – 8

Inns: 3 // Runs: 97 // SR: 124.4 // HS: 47

The World Number 1 T20 had a good series, although not great as per his standards. He scored well in all three matches with scores reading 47, 26* & 24. The unbeaten 26 in the second T20I was an unlike SKY knock where he patiently played basis what the pitch demanded. Overall, SKY gets a rating of 8 for his performance. 

#5: Hardik Pandya [India] – 10

Inns: 3 // Runs: 66 // Wkts: 5 // HS: 30

Undoubtedly the player of the series, Hardik shined in all three departments – Batting, Bowling, and Captaincy. Hardik scored a valuable 66 runs, took 5 wickets, and helped India win the T20 series 2-1. For a perfect series, Hardik gets a rating of 10 for his performance. 

#6: Daryl Mitchell [New Zealand] – 7.8

Inns: 3 // Runs: 102 // Wkts: 1 // HS: 59*

Daryl Mitchell was New Zealand’s best player having scored well on 2 out of 3 occasions. Mitchell started the series with a bang scoring 59 off 30 balls. He could only manage 8 in the 2nd T20I before scoring another valuable 35 off 25 balls. Overall, Daryl Mitchell gets a rating of 7.8 for his performance.  

#7: Washington Sundar [India] – 7.5

Inns: 3 // Runs: 60 // Wkts: 3 // HS: 50

Sundar played a good part in the first two T20Is with both bat and ball. Sundar scored a valuable 50 off 28 balls in the 1st T20I aside from a brilliant spell of 2/22. He did well in the 2nd T20I with the ball with a spell of 1/17. Overall, Sundar gets a rating of 7.5 for his performance. 

#8: Michael Bracewell [New Zealand] – 9.9

Inns: 3 // Runs: 23 // Wkts: 4 // BBI: 2/31

Unlike the ODIs, Bracewell didn’t do much with the bat in T20Is scoring just 23 runs. However, his value came more as a bowler by taking 4 wickets from 3 innings at an economy rate of 5.8. Overall, purely for his bowling, Bracewell gets a rating of 9.9 for his performance.  

#9: Mitchell Santner [New Zealand] – 5.9

Inns: 3 // Runs: 39 // Wkts: 2 // BBI: 2/11

New Zealand’s captain, Santner had a decent series with the bat, but he shined well with the ball. His spells read 2/11 in the 1st T20I, 0/20 in the 2nd T20I, and 0/37 in the 3rd T20I; thus helping him get a performance rating of 5.9. In addition, Santner scored 39 valuable runs.   

#10: Shivam Mavi [India] – 5.9

Inns: 3 // Wkts: 3 // ER: 8.4 // BBI: 2/12

Mavi didn’t bowl much in the T20 series, but in the limited opportunity that he got, he did well by taking 3 wickets from just 5 overs that he bowled. His 2/12 in the 3rd T20I was his memorable spell. Overall, Mavi gets a rating of 5.9 for his performance. 

#11: Arshdeep Singh [India] – 7.4

Inns: 3// Wkts: 5 // ER: 8.2 // BBI: 2/7

Finally, the leading wicket-taker of the series, Arshdeep Singh had an unforgettable 1st T20I with his spell reading 1/51. But he made a strong comeback in the 2nd and 3rd T20I with his spells reading 2/7 and 2/16 respectively. Overall, Arshdeep gets a rating of 7.4 for his performance. 

India vs New Zealand 2023 T20 Series – Combined Best Performing 11:

Shubman Gill, Devon Conway, Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Daryl Mitchell, Washington Sundar, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Shivam Mavi, Arshdeep Singh

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the 2023 India vs New Zealand combined best 11 for T20 Series? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: WPL 2023: Women’s Premier League Tournament Format Explained

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.