india vs south africa 2022 official odi series squad cric8fanatic
International Cricket

India vs South Africa 2022: ODI Series Squad for Both Teams

Shikhar Dhawan to lead as we look at the official squad players list for Team India for the 2022 ODI series vs South Africa. 

After a looooong wait, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) finally unveiled the official squad for the ODI series vs South Africa. The delay was a surprise because usually BCCI shares the squad a few weeks before the 1st match But this time, the squad was shared only a few days before the 1st match.

Team India have named a B squad with the senior team flying to Australia for the T20 World Cup 2022. A total of 16-member have been selected to play the 3-match ODI series vs South Africa. As expected, Shikhar Dhawan will be leading the squad with Shreyas Iyer as his deputy. The squad contains a total of 6 batters, 2 wicket-keepers, 1 all-rounder, and 7 bowlers. 

None of the first-choice T20 squad players are a part of the ODI series squad. However, Team India have named 3 players that are named as standbys for T20 World Cup 2022. So, the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Ravi Bishnoi are present. Interestingly, Team India didn’t include the 4th player Mohammed Shami. But guess he hasn’t recovered from COVID, and will be flying directly to Australia. 

New Additions: 

Team India have rewarded the likes of Rajat Paditar and Mukesh Kumar for their consistent performances in the domestic circuit. These two have been consistently performing in Ranji Trophy, India A and others. It would be interesting to see if they get to play from match 1.  


The ODI series sees the omission of Prasidh Krishna, who was a part of the squad that played against Zimbabwe. His omission details aren’t known, but most-likely he is yet to recover from the injury. Nevertheless, here’s the official squad for Team India for the 2022 ODI series vs Zimbabwe. 

India vs South Africa 2022: Official ODI Series Squad Players List for Team India

Batters: Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer & Shubman Gill 

Wks: Ishan Kishan & Sanju Samson

All-rounders: Shahbaz Ahmed

Bowlers: Avesh Khan, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi & Shardul Thakur 

Captain: Shikhar Dhawan // Vice-captain: Shreyas Iyer

India vs South Africa 2022: Official ODI Series Squad Players List for Team India

Batters: Aiden Markram, David Miller, Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks & Temba Bavuma

Wks: Heinrich Klaasen & Quinton de Kock 

All-rounders: Andile Phehlukwayo & Dwaine Pretorius 

Bowlers: Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi & Wayne Parnell 

Team Strength: 15 // Coach: Mark Boucher // Captain: Temba Bavuma

India A vs South Africa 2022: Official ODI Series Schedule

  • 1st Match – Oct 6 @ Lucknow 
  • 2nd Match – Oct 9 @ Ranchi
  • 3rd Match – Oct 11 @ New Delhi 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on Team India squad for the ODI series? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup 2022 Confirmed Official Schedule – Download PDF

© Cric8fanatic