Indian Premier League

IPL 2023: Full Retained and Released Players List for CSK

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) retain 18 players as we look at their full retained and released squad list for IPL 2023. 

The most consistent side in the Indian Premier League history, the Chennai Super Kings have retained a total of 18 players ahead of the IPL 2023 Auction. Their retentions were as per expectations except for that one name that they let go of. 

After a relationship of more than a decade, CSK decided to let go of their most successful overseas player, Dwayne Bravo. The Champion as they call him is the leading wicket-taker in IPL history with 183 wickets to his name; the record that is expected to remain with him for a year or two. 

Overall, CSK retained a total of 6 overseas players including the likes of Devon Conway, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Moeen Ali, Maheesh Theekshana, and Matheesha Pathirana. Apart from Bravo, they let go of pacers Chris Jordan and Adam Milne.

Meanwhile, amidst all the rumors and constant masala surrounding Ravindra Jadeja and CSK, the relationship shall continue to flourish as CSK have retained Ravindra Jadeja for INR 16 crores. With Jadeja relieved of the captaincy duties, MS Dhoni shall continue to remain as the Captain of the team for IPL 2023. 

So, here’s the list of the full retained squad and players for CSK for IPL 2023.

IPL 2023: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Retained Players Details 

Ambati Rayudu, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Subhranshu Senapati, Devon Conway (o&wk), MS Dhoni (c&wk), Dwaine Pretorius (o), Mitchell Santner (o), Moeen Ali (o), Ravindra Jadeja & Shivam Dube, Deepak Chahar, Mukesh Chaudhary, Maheesh Theekshana (o), Matheesha Pathirana (o), Prashant Solanki, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, & Tushar Deshpande.

Total Players Retained: 18 // Purse Remaining: INR 20.45 Crores

So, analyzing the squad, CSK now have a total of 3 batters, 2 wicket-keepers, 2 pace-bowling all-rounder, 3 spin-bowling all-rounder, 6 pacers, and 2 spinners. The squad looks potent as is, but with an INR 20.45 purse available, CSK shall look for an additional pace-bowling all-rounder, an overseas batter, and a backup Indian keeper most probably.  

IPL 2023: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Released Players Details 

From the release players’ point of view, CSK have released 3 overseas players and 5 Indian players including Robin Uthappa, who recently retired. The 3 overseas players are Adam Milne, Chris Jordan, and Dwayne Bravo. Whereas the Indian players are Robin Uthappa, Bhagath Varma, C Hari Nishaanth, KM Asif, and N Jagadeesan.  

IPL 2023: Official Released Players List for Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Players Released: Adam Milne (o), Bhagath Varma, C. Hari Nishaanth, Chris Jordan (o), Dwayne Bravo (o), KM Asif, N. Jagadeesan & Robin Uthappa  

IPL 2023 – Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Best Playing 11 from Retained Players:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Dwaine Pretorius, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana & Mukesh Choudhary 

If we talk about the best playing 11 for CSK from the list of retained players for IPL 2022, we have an identical 11 that played in IPL 2022, but with a few improvements. The top 7 remain the same for CSK as it was in 2022. Dwaine Pretorius for Dwayne Bravo is a like-for-like replacement. Whereas the addition of Deepak Chahar makes the bowling lineup more strong. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on CSK’s retention list for IPL 2023? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: Official Released Players Final List for all 10 Teams

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.