Indian Premier League

IPL 2023: Full Retained Players list for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

INR 42.25 crores left as we look at the retained players list and purse details for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) for IPL 2023. 

When Sunrisers Hyderabad announced their player retentions for IPL 2023, it must have come as a shocker to Cricket fans across the globe. The team not only retained the least number of players but also let go of an inspirational leader Kane Williamson, who has had a special bond with the franchise. 

How drastically things have changed for Kane Williamson and the think-tank of SRH. Just a year back, Kane Williamson was their first-choice retained player ahead of the likes of David Warner and Rashid Khan. But they seem to have lost complete confidence is Williamson, who himself seems to be low on confidence in T20Is. 

Overall, SRH retained only 12 players. This includes 2 batters, 5 all-rounders, and 5 pacers. Unfortunately, there is no wicket-keeper or lead spinner in the squad; although Glenn Phillips can keep and Sundar can bowl off-spin. So, here’s the official retained players list for SRH for IPL 2023.

IPL 2023 – Retained Players for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH):  

Aiden Markram (o), Rahul Tripathi, None, Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Glenn Phillips (o), Marco Jansen (o), Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi (o), Kartik Tyagi, T Natarajan & Umran Malik

Total Players Retained: 12 // Purse Remaining: INR 42.25 Crores

Analyzing the squad, SRH did retain a good bowling core and have a good INR 42.25 crores in their kitty. With such a huge amount of money left, they need to buy 7-8 good players to make sure they have a strong starting 11. They primarily need to invest in  Captian, wicket-keepers, batters, and spinners. 

IPL 2023 – Released Players for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH):

Players Released: Jagadeesha Suchith, Kane Williamson (o), Nicholas Pooran (o), Priyam Garg, Ravi Samarth, Romario Shepherd (o), Saurabh Dubey, Sean Abbott (o), Shashank Singh, Shreyas Gopal, Sushant Mishra & Vishnu Vinod

Total Players Released: 12 

Sunrisers Hyderabad released as many as 12 players from the squad and retained as many. Apart from Kane Williamson, the other overseas players that SRH released include Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shephard, and Sean Abbott. Rest SRH released all young Indian players. 

IPL 2023 – Best Playing 11 from Retained Players for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH):

Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Glenn Phillips (wk), Abdul Samad, Washington Sundar, Marco Jansen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, T. Natarajan, Umran Malik.

Talking about the first-choice playing 11 for SRH for IPL 2023 based on retained players, there is not much to choose with only 12 players available. The only choice that we have to make is to bench one of the pacers. Looking at the options that we have, Kartik Tyagi is that unfortunate exclusion.

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) player retention list for IPL 2023? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: Retained Players Best 11 for Rajasthan Royals (RR)

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.