Indian Premier League

IPL 2023: Ranking the Leading Wicket-taker List for Each Team

Mohammed Shami, the standout as we look at the ranking of the leading wicket taker for all 10 teams for IPL 2023

It’s been a week since the conclusion of the 16th edition of the Indian Premier League, the IPL 2023, but the memories are still afresh in my mind. While Chennai Super Kings did win the IPL for a record fifth time, it was the bowling line-up of Gujarat Titans that creates havoc throughout the tournament.

Who would have imagined the top three wicket-takers to belong to the same team, and the third-highest wicket-taker to have 5 more wickets than the fourth-best bowler? Well, that’s exactly what we saw in a one-sided bowling affair from Gujarat Titans. But how did the leading bowlers of each team perform this year? 

Well, let’s look at the leading wicket-taker of each team in IPL 2023, and rank them based on the number of wickets taken. For the simplicity of our analysis, we shall only be taking the leading wicket-taker of each team. For example, Mohit Sharma, the second-highest wicket-taker won’t feature in the list as Mohammed Shami is the name selected from Gujarat Titans. 

Ranking Leading Wicket Taker for Each Team in IPL 2023 

#10: Delhi Capitals – Mitchell Marsh (12 Wickets)

Inns: 8 // Wkts: 12 // Avg: 14.2 // ER: 8.4 // BBI: 4/27

At Number 10, we have the leading wicket-taker of Delhi Capitals, Mitchell Marsh. Such poor has been the performance of Delhi Capitals’ bowlers that their leading wicket-taker is 24th in the Purple cap list with 12 wickets to his name. However, even then, Marsh, who played only 8 innings has a fantastic average of 14.2; the 2nd-lowest among the top 20 bowlers. Not just that, he is also the only foreigner on this list. 

#9: Sunrisers Hyderabad – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (16 Wickets) 

Inns: 14 // Wkts: 16 // Avg: 26.6 // ER: 8.3 // BBI: 5/30

At number 9, we have the leading wicket-taker for SRH, Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Bhuvi has looked his best since 2017 having taken a total of 16 wickets, the best he has taken in the last 6 years. He also has a 5-wicket haul this season – his second since taking his first in 2017. Overall, he took 4 wickets more than the second-placed Mayank Markande. 

#8: Lucknow Super Giants – Ravi Bishnoi (16 Wickets)

Inns: 15 // Wkts: 16 // Avg: 24.4 // ER: 7.7 // BBI: 3/28

Number 8 sees Ravi Bishnoi as the leading wicket-taker for Lucknow Super Giants. Since his debut in 2020, Bishnoi has registered his best season yet with a total of 16 wickets from 15 innings. Again, Bishnoi hasn’t looked his best self yet, but still has been the leading wicket-taker for LSG with Yash Thakur in second place with 13 wickets.  

#7: Punjab Kings – Arshdeep Singh (17 Wickets)

Inns: 14 // Wkts: 17 // Avg: 29 // ER: 9.7 // BBI: 4/29

At number 7, we have Arshdeep Singh from Punjab Kings. In a rather dull season in the bowling department, Arshdeep’s 17 wickets seem to be the only shining light. Arshdeep, who made his debut in 2019 took 17 wickets this season; 1 less than the 2021 season. However, even after taking so many wickets, Arshdeep’s economy of 9.7 was a disappointment. 

#6: Royal Challengers Bangalore – Mohammed Siraj (19 Wickets)

Inns: 14 // Wkts: 19 // Avg: 19.8 // ER: 7.5 // BBI: 4/21

At number 6, we have the current leading pacer for India in all three formats, Mohammed Siraj from Royal Challengers Bangalore. Siraj concluded his best performance yet in the IPL with a total of 19 wickets to his name; that’s 8 wickets more than his previous best 11, which he took in 2020. What’s more, Siraj’s 19 wickets have come at an economy rate of 7.5; the best in this list. 

#5: Kolkata Knight Riders – Varun Chakravarthy (20 Wickets)

Inns: 14 // Wkts: 20 // Avg: 21.5 // ER: 8.1 // BBI: 4/15

At number 5, we have Varun Chakravarthy from Kolkata Knight Riders. In what has been Chakravarthy’s best season yet, he has taken a total of 20 wickets from 14 innings this season for KKR. In an underwhelming season for KKR, Chakravarthy has been a shining light in the bowling department. He has taken 9 more wickets than 2nd-placed Sunil Narine. 

#4: Chennai Super Kings – Tushar Deshpande (21 Wickets)

Inns: 16 // Wkts: 21 // Avg: 26.9 // ER: 9.9 // BBI: 3/45

Number 4 sees Tushar Deshpande from Chennai Super Kings. In what has been a breakthrough season for Tushar, he has been instrumental in giving important wickets for CSK whenever needed. With a total of 21 wickets from 16 innings, Tushar leads the way for CSK. However, an economy rate of 9.9 is something Tushar would want to improve upon.

#3: Rajasthan Royals – Yuzvendra Chahal (21 Wickets)

Inns: 14 // Wkts: 21 // Avg: 20.6 // ER: 8.2 // BBI: 4/17

Another year, another great performance from Yuzvendra Chahal. The purple cap winner of 2022 has once again taken a solid 21 wickets this season from 14 innings. Another stunning year has seen Chahal become the all-time leading wicket-taker in IPL with a total of 187 wickets to his name. In addition, Chahal has taken three 4-wicket hauls this season; the most by any bowler has taken alongside Mohit Sharma. 

#2: Mumbai Indians – Piyush Chawla (22 Wickets)

Inns: 16 // Wkts: 22 // Avg: 22.5 // ER: 8.1 // BBI: 3/22

At number 2, we have Piyush Chawla from Mumbai Indians. After being in the backdrop in 2021 and 2022, Chawla has revived himself to become an important member in a successful season for Mumbai Indians. Chawla has taken 22 wickets this season; the most he has taken since his IPL debut in 2008. 

#1: Gujarat Titans – Mohammed Shami (28 Wickets)

Inns: 17 // Wkts: 28 // Avg: 18.6 // ER: 8.0 // BBI: 4/11

At number 1, we have the Purple Cap winner of IPL 2023, Mohammed Shami. Shami, the leading wicket-taker has taken 28 wickets this season at a superb average of 18.6 and an economy rate of 8.0. He has bowled the most number of dot balls this season with a total of 193 dot balls to his name. His teammates, Rashid Khan and Mohit Sharma with 27 wickets apiece have been brilliant too, but unfortunately couldn’t feature in this list. 

So, that’s about the ranking of the leading wicket-taker for each team in IPL 2023. 

Thanks for reading! Which is your take on the leading wicket-taker for each team in IPL 2023? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: Ranking Indian Players with Most Runs in Each Year

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.