Indian Premier League

IPL 2023: Full Retained and Released Players list for Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals (DC) retain 20 players as we look at their full retained and released squad list for IPL 2023. 

Delhi Capitals, the team that retained the maximum number of players, 20 did a near-perfect job when it comes to player retention. The team retained a total of 20 players that includes 3 batters, 1 wicket-keeper, 7 all-rounders, 3 spinners, and 6 pacers. 

Delhi Capitals shall once again be led by young and dynamic Rishabh Pant with strong leadership support from David Warner. Overall, the team has retained 10 of their 11 first-choice playing 11 options, which is a great sign. However, they let go of Shardul Thakur, who was a touch expensive for the team.

With the release of Shardul Thakur and other expensive players, the Delhi Capitals team now have INR 19.45 in their kitty. This is more than enough to buy another strong overseas all-rounder or batter. The team can also try their luck to purchase Mayank Agarwal, who was released from the Punjab Kings squad.

So, here’s the list of the full retained squad and players for Delhi Capitals for IPL 2023.

IPL 2023 – Delhi Capitals Retained Players Details:  

IPL 2023: Official Final Retained Squad Players for Delhi Capitals

David Warner (o), Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, Rishabh Pant, Aman Khan, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh (o), Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell (o), Yash Dhull, Anrich Nortje (o), Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi (o), Mustafizur Rahman (o), Pravin Dubey & Vicky Ostwal

Total Players Retained: 20 // Purse Remaining: INR 19.45 Crores

Analyzing the squad, Delhi Capitals have a well-balanced squad from all departments. Given the available purse, the team shall look to add a few more batters to their squad, both in the Indian as well Overseas categories.

IPL 2023 – Delhi Capitals Released Players Details: 

In terms of released players, Delhi Capitals have let go of Ashwin Hebbar, KS Bharat, Mandeep Singh, Tim Seifert, and Shardul Thakur. Seifert remains the only overseas player to have been released. The release of KS Bharat is a surprise. He is a great talent, and unless self-demanded, there’s no reason why KS Bharat should have been released. 

So, here’s the official released players list for Delhi Capitals for IPL 2023.

IPL 2023: Official Released Players List for Delhi Capitals

Players Released: Ashwin Hebbar, KS Bharat, Mandeep Singh,  Tim Seifert (o) & Shardul Thakur (Traded to KKR)

IPL 2023 – Delhi Capitals Best Playing 11 from Retained Players:

The ideal first-choice playing 11 for Delhi Capitals for IPL 2023 based on retained players looks interesting. The opening duo remains the same in the form of David Warner and Prithvi Shaw with Mitchell Marsh at 3 and Rishabh Pant at 4. Sarfaraz Khan at 5 remains a doubtful starter, and Delhi could look to find a replacement for him in the auction. 

Rovman Powell at 6 and Axar Patel at 7 are good finishing options for Delhi Capitals. Whereas from the bowling point of view, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, and Kuldeep Yadav are sure-shot starters. Chetan Sakariya may find a place in this line-up, but Delhi Capitals could be looking for backup options for him in the Auction.

David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (c&wk), Sarfaraz Khan, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Kuldeep Yadav, Chetan Sakariya & Khaleel Ahmed

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the Delhi Capitals player retention list for IPL 2023? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: Official Released Players Final List for all 10 Teams

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.