Cricket News

India vs Australia 2023: ODI Series Squad and Players List

Team India select an 18-member squad as we look at the official Players list details for the 2023 ODI series vs Australia.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Sunday, February 19th announced the official ODI series squad and players list for Team India. Unlike the ODI series vs New Zealand where only 16 members were selected, the 2023 ODI series vs Australia will see a total of 18 players playing. 

Team India have selected an almost ODI World Cup 2023 core; except for a few exceptions. While Rishabh Pant is out after suffering from an accident a few weeks back, Jasprit Bumrah has still not recovered from the injury. So, instead of a 20-core team, only 18 players have been selected. 

However, the squad does see an addition of a new member, whom no one expected would get selected. In a surprising move, Team India have left out Left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh, and instead selected another left-arm pacer, Jaydev Unadkat. To recap, Unadkat, who is also a part of Team India’s Test squad last played an ODI in 2013.  

Team India’s ODI Squad Breakdown 


In terms of batters, Team India have selected a strong core of 5 players. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill remain the first-choice opening options. Whereas Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar Yadav are a part of the strong middle-order core for Team India. Apart from these names, there’s no name that was in contention for a spot in the team. 


In terms of Wicket-keepers, Team India have selected the same duo of KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan. Unfortunately, India have decided to leave out Sanju Samson, who did nothing wrong to have been ignored in such a fashion. In addition, Team India’s first-choice wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant is currently recovering from the accident he suffered a few weeks back. 


Team India have selected four strong all-rounder options for the side. Hardik Pandya, the Vice Captain remains the only pace all-rounder in the side. At the same time, there are three spin-bowling all-rounders in the form of Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, and Washington Sundar. Ravindra Jadeja. Jaadu missed quite a good number of ODI series recently, and is making a comeback from an injury. 


Team India selected an identical bowling line-up against New Zealand, except for one change. Overall, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal remain the first-choice spin options. Whereas Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, and Jaydev Unadkat are the pace options that Team India have. 

India vs Australia 2023 – Official ODI Series Squad and Players List for India:

Rohit Sharma [c], Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya [vc], Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik & Yuzvendra Chahal

So, that’s about the official 18-member squad and players list for Team India for the ODI series vs Australia. Overall, India have 5 batters, 2 wicket-keepers, 4 all-rounders, 2 spinners, and 5 pacers in the side. Please note that Rohit Sharma won’t be available for the first ODI due to personal issues. So, in his absence, Hardik Pandya shall lead the Indian side. 

India vs Australia 2023: Official ODI Series Squad and Players List for Australia:

Yet to be Announced – Stay Tuned!

India vs Australia 2023 ODI Series Schedule:

  • 1st ODI – March 17 // Mumbai
  • 2nd ODI – March 19 // Vizag
  • 3rd ODI – March 22 // Chennai

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on Team India squad for the 2023 ODI series vs Australia? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: WPL 2023: Final Official Salary List Breakdown for All 87 Players

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.