T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup 2022: Updated Squad Players List for Team India

Mohammed Shami replaces Jasprit Bumrah as we look at the updated final squad players list for Team India for T20 World Cup 2022. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on October 14 announced the replacement of Jasprit Bumrah, who was recently ruled out of the T20 World Cup 2022 due to back Injury. Pacer Mohammed Shami, who was earlier named in the reserves has officially replaced Jasprit Bumrah in the final 15. 

In addition to naming Mohammed Shami in the final 15, there are a few changes in the reserves too. Mohammed Siraj has been added as a replacement for Mohammed Shami in the reserves. Whereas Shardul Thakur has been added to the reserves as a replacement for injured Deepak Chahar.

Importantly, Shreyas Iyer and Ravi Bishnoi, who were a part of the reserves earlier haven’t travelled to Australia. Only, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur have travelled from the reserves. Most-likely, the former two will travel only when necessary. 

Squad Recap

To recap, BCCI had named an official 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2022. This includes Rohit Sharma as the Captain and KL Rahul as his deputy. Whereas Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Dinesh Karthik were named as the remaining batters in the squad.

Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Deepak Hooda, and Ravichandran Ashwin shall comprise of the all-rounder duties for Team India. The bowling consists of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, and recently added Mohammed Shami.

So, here’s the official updated squad for Team India for T20 World Cup 2022.

T20 World Cup 2022 – Official Updated Squad List for Team India: 

Batters: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav & Virat Kohli

Wks: Dinesh Karthik & Rishabh Pant

All-rounders: Axar Patel, Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya & Ravichandran Ashwin 

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Shami & Yuzvendra Chahal

Coach: Rahul Dravid // Captain: Rohit Sharma // Vice-captain: KL Rahul

Meanwhile, coming to Team India’s schedule, India would be playing a total of 5 matches in the Super 12 stage. The first match is the blockbuster India vs Pakistan match on October 23. India then play South Africa, Bangladesh, and two qualifiers.

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the squad for Team India for T20 World Cup 2022? Please email your comments to cric8fanatic@gmail.com 

ALSO READ: Exclusive: Top 5 Strengths and Weakness of India for T20 World Cup 2022

© Cric8fanatic

Sonal Jain

Sonal is an experienced cricket author with over 5 years of experience in the field. She follows Indian cricket to the core with a deep interest in the Indian Premier League, World Cup, IPL 2024, etc.

One thought on “T20 World Cup 2022: Updated Squad Players List for Team India

Comments are closed.