Cricket News

Team India Final Pacers List in T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2024

Mohammed Shami selected the most number of times as we look at the full official pacers list for Team India in the T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2024. 

If there is one area where the Indian team has lacked for eternity now in the T20 format, it is the pace department. Right from the inception of T20 cricket, India never had a settled pace attack in this format, and the situation is still the same in 2024 as well. Even for the current T20 World Cup squad, barring Jasrprit Bumrah, who is the undisputed king among all pacers in the world, the likes of Arshdeep Singh and Mohammed Siraj for this World Cup are no match to him.

Even if we take the 2007 T20 World Cup, we didn’t have the most outstanding pace attack. The guys like Irfan Pathan and RP Singh did their job above their weight, but the supporting partners like Ajit Agarkar Agarkar and Joginder Sharma weren’t that effective overall. Nevertheless, what has been our pace attack over the years? Well, let’s look at the full pacers list for Team India from 2007 to the 2024 T20 World Cup. 

T20 World Cup Team India Full Pacers List – 2007 to 2024

T20 World Cup 2007 

Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan, Joginder Sharma, RP Singh & Sreesanth

Starting with the T20 World Cup 2007, the maiden triumph under the leadership of MS Dhoni, India selected 4 pacers for the World Cup that was played in South Africa. Amidst swinging conditions, Irfan Pathan led the bowling with RP Singh and Sreesanth being the two leading pacers. Joginder Sharma also played a crucial role in the final with Ajit Agarkar being a good backup pacer.  

T20 World Cup 2009

Irfan Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, RP Singh & Zaheer Khan

For the second World Cup played in England, India continued with Irfan Pathan and RP Singh as the two leading pacers in the squad. Joining them were three more solid pacers in the form of Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, and Zaheer Khan. The pace attack had the potential for the conditions in England, but India, unfortunately, couldn’t do well. 

T20 World Cup 2010

Ashish Nehra, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav & Vinay Kumar

For the 2010 T20 World Cup in the West Indies, India had four pacers in the squad in the form of Ashish Nehra, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, and Vinay Kumar. While Zaheer led the bowling attack, and was also the only pacer from previous World Cups, India had three new pacers, who supported Zaheer. 

T20 World Cup 2012

Ashok Dinda, Irfan Pathan, Lakshmipathy Balaji & Zaheer Khan

Coming to the 2012 T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka, India continued with Zaheer Khan, and also added Irfan Pathan to the squad, With these two left-arm pacers as the leading pacers, India also had Ashok Dinda and Lakhmipathy Balaji as two more pacers supporting them. The pace attack wasn’t the most encouraging, and it was onto the spinners to feel the ground.   

T20 World Cup 2014

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Stuart Binny & Varun Aaron

Coming to the 2014 T20 World Cup where India were the finalist. For the sub-continent pitches of Bangladesh, India went ahead with a completely revamped pace attack. None of the selected pacers played a T20 World Cup before, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar led the pace attack with support from Mohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami. In addition to these three, India had Stuart Binny and Varun Aaron. 

T20 World Cup 2016

Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah & Mohammed Shami

Another semi-final finish for India with the World Cup being scheduled in India. For the pace attack in the 2016 T20 World Cup, India got a gem bowler in the form of Jasprit Bumrah. Bumrah led the pace attack with support from Ashish Nehra and Mohammed Shami. While India had these three pacers, Hardik Pandya also played a huge part during the tournament. 

T20 World Cup 2021

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami & Shardul Thakur

After a gap of 5 years, the T20 World Cup moved to UAE under the umbrella of BCCI. The tournament didn’t end well for India with a group stage exit, but India did have a potent pace attack. Jasprit Bumrah led the pace attack with support from Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami. With such a strong pace trio, India had Hardik Pandya and Shardul Thakur as two more pacers.  

T20 World Cup 2022

Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Harshal Patel & Mohammed Shami

Coming to the 2022 T20 World Cup that was played in Australia, India were without Jasprit Bumrah this time. Without Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami, and Buvneshwar Kumar led the pace bowling with support from Hardik Pandya as the fourth pacer. Meanwhile, Harshal Patel played a key backup pacer role. 

T20 World Cup 2024

Arshdeep Singh, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj & Shivam Dube

Finally, taking about the latest edition, the 2024 T20 World Cup, India have Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, and Mohammed Shami as the 3 leading pacers in the squad. Had Shami been fit, he would have easily made the cut above Siraj. In addition to these three, India also have 2 pace all-rounders in the form of Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dube. With West Indies pitches mostly supporting spin, it would be interesting to see how Indian pacers perform this time. 

Thanks for reading! What is your take on the full pacers list for Team India from 2007 to the 2024 T20 World Cup? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: Team India Full Spinners List in T20 World Cup – 2007 to 2024

© Cric8fanatic

Sonal Jain

Sonal is an experienced cricket author with over 5 years of experience in the field. She follows Indian cricket to the core with a deep interest in the Indian Premier League, World Cup, IPL 2024, etc.