Indian Premier League

IPL 2023: Final Official List of Spinners for All 10 Teams

Rashid Khan, the best spinner as we look at the updated list of spinners for all 10 teams ahead of IPL 2023. 

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League, the IPL 2023 will see a total of 65 spinners playing for 10 teams. This includes a total of 19 overseas spinners including the part-time options. While on an average, this comes to 6.5 spinners per team, LSG, RR, and SRH have the maximum 8 each, and Delhi Capitals have the least, that’s 5 spinners.

With the tournament happening in India, we should see a lot of spin tracks like Chennai, Jaipur, Delhi, Ahmedabad, etc. Moreover, as the tournament progresses, the tracks will deteriorate, and we should see more spin-friendly tracks from other pitches as well. Having said that, let’s look at the spinners list of all 10 teams for IPL 2023. 

IPL 2023 Complete List of Spinners

CSK have a total of 7 spinners in their squad including 3 overseas spinners. Out of these seven, five are front-line experienced spinners. Whereas Ajay Mandal and Prashant Solanki are more of young Indian spinners. Of the 7 spinners, Maheesh Theekshana is the best spinner. 

Chennai Super Kings Spinners List for IPL 2023:

Ajay Mandal, Maheesh Theekshana (o),  Mitchell Santner (o), Moeen Ali (o), Prashant Solanki & Ravindra Jadeja

Delhi Capitals have only 5 spinners in their squad for IPL 2023. They have the least number of spinners among all teams, and are also the only team alongside Lucknow to not have any overseas spinners. Meanwhile, Kuldeep Yadav is Delhi Capitals’ best spinner. 

Delhi Capitals Spinners List for IPL 2023:

Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Pravin Dubey & Vicky Ostwal

Gujarat Titans have a total of 6 spinners in their squad. There are two overseas spinners, and both are from Afghanistan. Rashid Khan, who is the benchmark spinner in IPL is a part of the Gujarat Titans squad. Other than these two, R. Sai Kishore is a good spinner and Tewatia and Jayant are more of spin all-rounders. 

Gujarat Titans Spinners List for IPL 2023:

B Sai Sudharsan, Jayant Yadav, Noor Ahmad (o), R. Sai Kishore, Rahul Tewatia & Rashid Khan (o)

Kolkata Knight Riders have only six spinners in their squad, but three of these five spinners are quite good. While Shakib Al Hasan and Sunil Narine form for good overseas spinners, Varun Chakravarthy is a good Indian spinner. Whereas Anukul Roy and Suyash Sharma are young Indian spinners. 

Kolkata Knight Riders Spinners for IPL 2023:

Anukul Roy, Nitish Rana, Shakib Al Hasan (o), Sunil Narine (o), Suyash Sharma & Varun Chakravarthy

Lucknow Super Giants have eight spinners in their squad, but surprisingly none of them is overseas spinners. Out of these right, Ravi Bishnoi and Amit Mishra are front-line spinners. Whereas the other six are more or part-time options. 

Lucknow Super Giants Spinners for IPL 2023:

Amit Mishra, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Karan Sharma, Krishnappa Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi & Swapnil Singh

Mumbai Indians, who generally invest a lot in pacers have seven spinners in their squad. They don’t have a Frontline overseas spinner as Dewald Brevis is the only decent overseas option. Piyush Chawla remains the only experienced Indian spinner, and the rest are young Indian spinners. 

Mumbai Indians Spinners for IPL 2023:

Dewald Brevis (o), Akash Madhwal, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla, Raghav Goyal, Shams Mulani & Tilak Varma

Punjab Kings have six spinners in their squad, but Rahul Chahar remains the only Frontline spinner. All others are either young spinners or backup options. Sikandar Raza, who is more of a spin all-rounder is very much like Narine with his bowling. He can come our well with his bowling, and can surprise in a few matches. 

Punjab Kings Spinners for IPL 2023: 

Atharva Taide, Harpreet Brar, Liam Livingstone (o), Matthew Short (o), Mohit Rathee, Rahul Chahar & Sikandar Raza (o) 

Rajasthan Royals have the best Spin Attack among all teams with a focus on quality as well as quantity. They have 8 spinners in their squad, and four are good Frontline spinners in the form of Zampa, Ashwin SR., Ashwin Jr., and Chahal. Whereas the rest four are more or part-time options. 

Rajasthan Royals Spinners for IPL 2023:

Adam Zampa (o), Joe Root, KC Cariappa, Murugan Ashwin, Ravichandran Ashwin, Riyan Parag, Yashasvi Jaiswal & Yuzvendra Chahal

RCB have a total of 7 spinners in their squad, but Wanindu Hasaranga and Karn Sharma remain the only Frontline spinners. Other than them, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz. Ahmed, and Michael Bracewell play the role of spin all-rounders. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore Spinners for IPL 2023: 

Glenn Maxwell (o), Himanshu Singh, Karn Sharma, Mahipal Lomror, Michael Bracewell (o), Shahbaz Ahmed & Wanindu Hasaranga (o)

Finally, Sunrisers Hyderabad have 8 spinners in their squad, and four of these eight are overseas; the most for any team. In addition, SRH have Markram, who is the only Captain who can spin the ball. Adil Rashid remains their best spinner with a Washington Sundar and Akeal Hosein being the other good options. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad Spinners for IPL 2023:

Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Adil Rashid (o), Aiden Markram (c&o), Akeal Hosein (o), Glenn Phillips (o), Mayank Markande & Washington Sundar 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the updated spinners list for IPL 2023? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: Exclusive: IPL 2023: All 10 Teams Updated Final Squad and Players List

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.