ODI World Cup

ODI World Cup 2023: Official Updated Schedule – Download Pdf

India vs Pakistan blockbuster on 14th October as we look at the complete updated official schedule for ODI World Cup 2023.

2 more days, and the ultimate mega event of the year, the ODI World Cup 2023 will commence with the Defending champions England taking on the 2019 WC’s Runner-ups, New Zealand. 10 teams will officially clash for 48 matches for a period of 46 non-stop cricketing days.

8 teams, namely Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa had already qualified for the tournament basis the World Super League standings. Whereas the other two teams, namely Netherlands and Sri Lanka played the World Cup qualifiers to qualify for the mega event.  

The 10 teams will be playing 45 Group stage matches, 2 Semi-finals, and 1 Final. From the Group stage matches, each team will be playing the other 9 teams once; thus a total of 9 Group stage matches per team. Post the Group stage matches, the top 4 teams will qualify for the Semi-finals, and the winners of that will play the Final on November 19 at Ahmedabad.  

The BCCI and the ICC have decided to have selected 9 locations for the World Cup. The locations include Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, and Pune. In terms of timings, there are 6 Day matches and 42 D/N matches. While Day matches begin at 10:30 am IST, D/N begins at 2 pm IST.  

In terms of pitches for the 9 locations, we cannot surely tell what we can expect. However, if history is anything to go by, expect Chennai, Delhi, Lucknow, and Pune to be spin-friendly pitches. Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, and Mumbai will most-likely assist pace bowlers. Whereas Ahmedabad may assist both types of bowlers. 

Team India’s Schedule for ODI World Cup 2023:

Coming to Team India’s schedule, the first match begins on October 08 where India take on Australia in Chennai. The last Group stage match for India shall be played against the Netherlands on November 12 at Bengaluru. For India, all 9 matches are D/N matches that begin at 2 pm IST. 

  • 1st match – India vs Australia – Oct 08, 2 pm IST @ Chennai
  • 2nd match – India vs Afghanistan – Oct 11, 2 pm IST @ Delhi
  • 3rd match – India vs Pakistan – Oct 14, 2 pm IST @ Ahmedabad
  • 4th match – India vs Bangladesh – Oct 19, 2 pm IST @ Pune
  • 5th match – India vs New Zealand – Oct 22, 2 pm IST @ Dharamsala
  • 6th match – India vs England – Oct 29, 2 pm IST @ Lucknow
  • 7th match – India vs Sri Lanka – Nov 02, 2 pm IST @ Mumbai
  • 8th match – India vs South Africa – Nov 05, 2 pm IST @ Kolkata
  • 9th match – India vs Netherlands – Nov 12, 2 pm IST @ Bengaluru

To recap the 2019 ODI World Cup, England won the ODI World Cup for the first time in the tournament’s 48 years history. They had defeated New Zealand with the help of boundary country after the Super over was tied. While India lost the Semi-final to New Zealand, Australia lost the Semi-final to England. 

Coming to the 2023 ODI World Cup, Team India start as the favourites. Not only are they are playing at home but they have a really strong squad to compete on all Indian pitches. Other than India, England, Australia, and South Africa look good to qualify for the Semi-final. However, we shouldn’t discount New Zealand and Pakistan, who can surprise a few this World Cup. 

Thanks for reading! Looking at the official schedule, Who do you think would win the ODI World Cup 2023? Please email your thoughts to business@cric8fanatic.com

ALSO READ: ODI World Cup 2023: Squad Comparison for India, England and Aus

© Cric8fanatic

Sonal Jain

Sonal is an experienced cricket author with over 5 years of experience in the field. She follows Indian cricket to the core with a deep interest in the Indian Premier League, World Cup, IPL 2024, etc.

3 thoughts on “ODI World Cup 2023: Official Updated Schedule – Download Pdf

Comments are closed.