ODI World Cup

ODI World Cup 2023: Last 6 Final Pacers List for Team India

Jasprit Bumrah, the best pacer currently as we look at the final list of pacers for Team India from 2003 to ODI World Cup 2023. 

India has been one country where the quality of spinners that they have produced has been better than the quality of pacers produced by them. While India have had really great spinners, the country has also produced some outstanding pacers like Kapil Dev, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, etc. 

The upcoming 2023 edition of the ODI World Cup will be played in India, where the role of pacers as well as spinners will be quite crucial. India have selected 5 pacers for the upcoming edition. But how about we look at the evolution of pacers for Team India in the ODI World Cup from 2003 to 2023?

Team India Official List of Pacers in ODI World Cup (2003-2023)

ODI World Cup 2003 – Ajit Agarkar, Ashish Nehra, Javagal Srinath, Sanjay Bangar, Sourav Ganguly & Zaheer Khan

The legendary 2003 World Cup that was played in South Africa had a total of six pacers in the Indian team. While Javagal Srinath was the most experienced, and also the leader of the pace attack, the tournament saw some wonderful performances from left-arm quicks, Ashish Nehra and Zaheer. In addition, the team had three more quicks in the form of Ajit Agarkar, Sanjay Bangar, and Sourav Ganguly.

ODI World Cup 2007 – Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, Sourav Ganguly, S. Sreesanth & Zaheer Khan

Coming to the disappointing 2007 campaign, which was played in the West Indies, there were once again a total of six pacers in the squad, The pace department was led by Zaheer Khan with good support from Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, and Ajit Agarkar. Surprisingly, Ashish Nehra wasn’t a part of the squad. In addition, Team India had Sreesanth and Sourav Ganguly as other pacers. 

ODI World Cup 2011 – Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel, Praveen Kumar & Zaheer Khan

Talking about the victorious 2011 campaign that was played in India, there were only four pacers in the squad. Zaheer Khan led the pace department with good support from Ashish Nehra and Munaf Patel. The team had Praveen Kumar as the first-choice pacer in the squad. However, injury ruled him out, and he was replaced by Sreesanth. 

ODI World Cup 2015 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny & Umesh Yadav

The 2015 ODI World Cup which was played in Australia had a total of five pacers in the Indian team. It was a transition year for the Indian team as all the pacers were youngsters, and none were a part of previous World Cups. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the leader of the pace attack with good support from Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, and Umesh Yadav. Unfortunately, Ishant Sharma was ruled out due to injury, and Mohit Sharma was named as his replacement. 

ODI World Cup 2019 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami & Vijay Shankar

Coming to the 2019 ODI World Cup in England, there were a total of five pacers in the squad. Jasprit Bumrah was the leader of the pace attack with good support from Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. In addition, Team India had all-rounders, Hardik Pandya and Vijay Shankar among the pacers. 

ODI World Cup 2023 – Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj & Shardul Thakur

Finally, for the most recent one, the ODI World Cup 2023, India once again have five pacers in the squad. Similar to 2019, Jasprit Bumrah shall be the leader of the pace attack. He will have Mohammed Siraj as an equally potent option. In addition, Team India have Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, and Hardik Pandya as great pace options. 

Talking about India’s pace attack, Jasprit Bumrah is an all-conditions bowler. He can bowl perfectly in the Powerplay, Middle phase, or Death overs. Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami have a forte in Powerplay and Death overs. While Hardik Pandya can bowl well in Powerplay and Middle overs, Shardul Thakur is more of a Middle overs bowler. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the final pacers list for Team India from ODI World Cup 2003 to 2023? Please email your thoughts to business@cric8fanatic.com

ALSO READ: ODI World Cup 2023: Squad Comparison for India, England and Australia

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.

One thought on “ODI World Cup 2023: Last 6 Final Pacers List for Team India

Comments are closed.