T20 World Cup

Team India Official Squad List for Last Two T20 World Cup

A total of 9 players in common as we look at the official squad for Team India for the last two T20 World Cup in 2021 and 2022. 

The IPL 2024 is producing some of the most amazing cricket matches currently. While 200+ while batting first seems to be a cakewalk, what’s more encouraging is that teams are chasing such targets with ease. The recent KKR vs PBKS match is an example where PBKS chased 260+ in just 19 overs. Records after records are getting shattered in what has been the most epic IPL so far.

While IPL 2024 is giving such amazing entertainment, the Indian team selectors and management are busy planning for the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup. In just a few days, the Indian team is expected to announce the squad for the upcoming World Cup, and it already promises to be an exciting affair for the selectors as almost 6-7 spots are vacant, and yet to be discussed.

It would be interesting to see how selectors go about selecting the final 15 players. But as we wait for the selectors to announce the official squad, how about we look at the official squad for Team India for the last two T20 World Cup in 2021 and 2022? While we played the 2021 T20 World Cup under the leadership of Virat Kohli, the 2022 WC was played under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.


T20 World Cup 2021: Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav & Virat Kohli

T20 World Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav & Virat Kohli

Starting with the batters, the Indian team had the same set of batters in both the T20 World Cups. It’s the same trio of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Suryakumar Yadav that played in the 2021 and 2022 T20 World Cup. The only difference is that of the Captain. While Virat Kohli was the Captain in 2021, Rohit Sharma was the Captain in 2022.


T20 World Cup 2021: Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul & Rishabh Pant

T20 World Cup 2022: Dinesh Karthik, KL Rahul & Rishabh Pant

Coming to the wicket-keepers, India played almost identical wicket-keepers in both the T20 World Cups. While Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul played in both the T20 World Cups, Ishan Kishan played in 2021, and Dinesh Karthik played in 2022. So, there was a difference of only one keeper in both the World Cups.


T20 World Cup 2021: Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin & Ravindra Jadeja

T20 World Cup 2022: Axar Patel, Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya & Ravichandran Ashwin

In terms of All-rounders, Team India had Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Ravindra Jadeja in the 2021 T20 World Cup. Whereas in the 2022 T20 World Cup, India had Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, and Ravichandran Ashwin. So, India played an extra all-rounder in 2022, and Hardik and Ash were the common all-rounders.


T20 World Cup 2021: Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja & Varun Chakravarthy

T20 World Cup 2022: Axar Patel, Deepak Hooda, Ravichandran Ashwin & Yuzvendra Chahal

The spin contingent is one area that has seen a huge difference in the selection in both T20 World Cups so far. Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy played in the 2021 World Cup alongside Jadeja and Ashwin. Whereas Yuzvendra Chahal played alongside Deepak Hooda, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Axar Patel to lead the spin bowling attack in 2022.


T20 World Cup 2021: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami & Shardul Thakur

T20 World Cup 2022: Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Harshal Patel & Mohammed Shami 

In terms of pacers, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami have been the common entities so far in both World Cups. But in terms of difference, there was Jasprit Bumrah and Shardul Thakur in the 2021 World Cup. Whereas in the 2022 World Cup, there was Arshdeep Singh and Harshal Patel.

So, overall, there have been 9 players who have played in both the T20 World Cups in 2021 and 2022. Among the nine players that have played both World Cups, expect Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, and Rishabh Pant to also be a part of the upcoming 2024 World Cup squad for Team India. Aside from these six, we should see the following squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. 

Best Predicted Squad for Team India for T20 World Cup 2024:

Batters: Rinku Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli & Yashasvi Jaiswal

WKs: KL Rahul & Rishabh Pant

All-rounders: Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya & Ravindra Jadeja

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj & Ravi Bishnoi 

Among the Strongest squad that we are likely to see in the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup for Team India, we should see Rohit, Rinku, Surya, Virat, and Yashasvi as the batters. Hardik, Jadeja, and Axar shall be the All-rounders. Rishabh and KL shall be the keepers. Bishnoi and Kuldeep shall be the spinners. Whereas Bumrah, Arshdeep, and Siraj shall be the pacers.

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the best predicted squad and players list for team India for T20 World Cup 2024? Please email your thoughts to business@cric8fanatic.com.

ALSO READ: Revealed: Full Injured Players and Replacement List for IPL 2024

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.