T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup 2024: Team India Confirmed 15 Player Squad List

Rohit Sharma, the leader as we look at the confirmed 15-member squad and players list for Team India for the 2024 T20 World Cup. 

The entire world is currently buzzing with the hottest T20 League in the world, the Indian Premier League. However, there are a few people who are working day in and day out to make sure India has a successful T20 World Cup, which follows the IPL 2024. After a successful Test series vs England, India’s next assignment is directly the 2024 T20 World Cup. 

The Indian national side is currently taking a break from International cricket, and focusing entirely on the IPL. However, the Indian team management is currently analyzing all their potential players so that they can find the best 15 that they are going to deploy for the 2024 T20 World Cup.

Indian team is currently facing a few injury scares which will make the job difficult for the Selection committee. The likes of Mohammed Shami and Prasidh Krishna are already ruled out. But assuming most of the players are fit and fine for the tournament, what will be the confirmed best squad and players list for Team India for the T20 World Cup 2024?

T20 World Cup 2024 Confirmed Squad List for India


Rinku Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli & Yashasvi Jaiswal

When we talk about the top 3 openers for the Indian team for T20 World Cup 2024, we should mostly see Captain Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal and the top 2 openers in the team. But when it comes to the third opener, India does have a few good options in the form of Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and KL Rahul.

But with a squad limitation of 15 players, India will most likely not go ahead with any of these options. While Kishan is still a good bet with a keeper role, his recent developments on not playing Domestic cricket may go against him. Hence, we might see India selecting only two openers with Virat Kohli being the backup opener.

With two players already selected, India have three solid options for the middle order. Virat Kohli is a definite certainty, and his position in the team should not even be questioned. Other than Kohli, India will definitely have Rinku Singh and Suryakumar Yadav. With these five batters, India already have a formidable batting attack.


Jitesh Sharma & Rishabh Pant

Coming to the wicket-keepers, Jitesh Sharma looks all set to be a part of the Indian T20 World Cup squad. Of all the keepers in the Indian team, Jitesh has had a good run in the last 10-12 months. Although he hasn’t done exceedingly well, he has done decently to make it to the squad. But who takes the second wicket-keeper slot?

Well, one good news for India is that Rishabh Pant, who has always been India’s First-choice keeper after MS Dhoni has recovered from his accident. If Pant can maintain the fitness, and does decently with the bat in IPL 2024, he will most likely be a part of India’s World Cup squad.


Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya & Ravindra Jadeja

Coming to all-rounders, this is a straightforward Category for India to choose from. If Hardik Pandya maintains his fitness, which he will, Shivam Dube may not be required. So, the other two options shall be Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel. With pitches favoring spin, these two all-rounders will be crucial alongside Hardik Pandya. 


Kuldeep Yadav & Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj & Jasprit Bumrah

Finally, talking about the bowing, we talk about pacers first. Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh are the two best pacers for India. But when it comes to the third pacer, Mohammed Shami would have been ideal. But with Shami not there due to injury, India have to choose one from Mukesh Kumar and Mohammed Siraj. Of the two, Siraj looks ideal to get selected.

In terms of spinners, Kuldeep Yadav shall be the leading spinner of the squad. With Kuldeep Yadav as the primary spinner, India will most-likely not go for a fourth pacer, and instead play Ravi Bishnoi as one of the four spinners. Overall, India still have four spinners and four pacers combination.

ALSO READ: IPL 2024: All 10 Teams Confirmed Best Playing 11

T20 World Cup 2024: Confirmed Squad List for India

Batters: Rinku Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli & Yashasvi Jaiswal

WKs: Jitesh Sharma & Rishabh Pant

All-rounders: Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya & Ravindra Jadeja

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah & Ravi Bishnoi

So, that’s about the confirmed best squad list for India for T20 World Cup 2024. Overall, 12 names select themselves. The only big names and spots that Team India will have to ponder upon and IPL 2024 will play a huge role in their selection are two keepers and 1 pacer. While Jitesh and Pant are frontrunners for the keeper slot, Siraj is a frontrunner for the Pacer slot.  

Team India Group Stage Fixtures for T20 World Cup 2024:

  • 05 June 2024 // India vs Ireland // 20:30 IST, New York
  • 09 June 2024 // India vs Pakistan // 20:30 IST, New York
  • 12 June 2024 // India vs USA // 20:30 IST, New York
  • 15 June 2024 // India vs Canada // 20:30 IST, Florida

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the T20 World Cup 2024 India squad list? Please email your thoughts to business@cric8fanatic.com

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.

3 thoughts on “T20 World Cup 2024: Team India Confirmed 15 Player Squad List

Comments are closed.