Cricket News

India vs Ireland 2023: Final Updated T20 Series Squad Players List

Jasprit Bumrah to lead as we look at the final updated T20 squad and players list for Ireland vs India T20 series 2023.  

After a disappointing end to the T20 series vs West Indies, the Indian team will now be flying to Ireland for a 3-match T20 series. It is going to be a completely new leadership for the Ireland tour given neither Hardik Pandya nor Suryakumar Yadav will be flying to Ireland owing to Asia Cup 2023 commitment.

The team will see Jasprit Bumrah leading the Indian team with Ruturaj Gaikwad as his deputy. It’s a completely new setup, and what’s more, it is understood that neither Head Coach Rahul Dravid nor the temporary coach VVS Laxman will be flying to Ireland. That means, the Indian team will be without a coach.  

The Ireland T20 series begins on August 18, and will conclude on August 23. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has selected a 15-member squad – the likes of which include 4 batters, 2 wicket-keepers, 3 all-rounders, 5 pacers, and just 1 primary spinner.  

Key Absentees:

The Ireland T20 Series squad for Team India will see a lot of key Indian players missing due to Asia Cup 2023 commitments. Including the primary leadership of Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav, the T20 squad will also be without Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Umran Malik, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Kuldeep Yadav. 

All these eight players shall take an important break ahead of Asia Cup 2023, which begins a few days after the conclusion of the Ireland series. However, Jasprit Bumrah, who shall also be a part of Asia Cup 2023 has only been selected to give good game practice. Bumrah has recovered from injury, but would need good match practice before Asia Cup participation.    

Key Selections:

With 8 key players missing in the Ireland T20 Series squad as compared to the West Indies T20 Series squad, there are 8 new players in the squad. As a like-for-like replacement in batting category, Ruturaj Gaikwad has replaced Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh has replaced Suryakumar Yadav, and Jitesh Sharma has replaced Ishan Kishan.

In the All-rounders category, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shivam Dube, and Washington Sundar have replaced Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav respectively. Whereas in the bowling category, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna have replaced Umran Malik and Yuzvendra Chahal respectively. 

So, that’s about the detailed changes for the official squad for Team India for the 2023 T20 series vs Ireland. Other than India, the Ireland team has selected only 14 players in their squad. So, here’s presenting the official squad for Ireland vs India 2023 T20 series. 

Ireland vs India 2023 – Official T20 Squad for Team India:

Batters: Rinku Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma & Yashasvi Jaiswal

WKs: Jitesh Sharma & Sanju Samson

All-roundersShahbaz Ahmed, Shivam Dube & Washington Sundar

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mukesh Kumar, Prasidh Krishna & Ravi Bishnoi 

Ireland vs India 2023 – Official T20 Squad for Ireland Team:

Batters: Andy Balbirnie (c), &

WKs: Lorcan Tucker 

All-rounders: Curtis Campher, Fionn Hand, , &

Bowlers: Barry McCarthy, Ben White,

 Meanwhile, here’s the T20 series schedule for Ireland vs India. 

Ireland vs India 2023 T20 Series Schedule:

  • 1st T20I @ Dublin – August 18, 7:30 pm IST
  • 2nd T20I @ Dublin – August 20, 7:30 pm IST
  • 3rd T20I @ Dublin – August 23, 7:30 pm IST

Overall, the Ireland T20 series promises to be a great opportunity for a lot of young players to make a mark in International cricket. All eyes will be on Jasprit Bumrah’s leadership, and the performance of the likes of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, and Prasidh Krishna. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the squad list for Team India for the 2023 T20 series vs Ireland? Please email your comments to 

ALSO READ: Asia Cup 2023: Official Last 3 ODI Squad List for Team India

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.