Asia Cup

Asia Cup 2023: Official Last 3 ODI Squad List for Team India

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni among leaders as we look at the last 3 official squad list for Team India in the Asia Cup ODI format. 

We are only a month away from the 2023 Asia Cup, and all eyes are on BCCI’s announcement of Team India’s squad for this year’s marquee event. Except for the injury concerns of a couple of players, the team is almost finalized for Team India. So, It should be anytime soon as we see BCCI announce the official squad for the Indian Cricket Team. 

The Asia Cup as we know usually fluctuates between ODI and T20 format depending on the ICC tournament that is played that year or next year. For example, 2023 is the ODI format with a prelude to ODI World Cup 2023. 2022 was in T20 format as a prelude to T20 World Cup 2023. Whereas 2018 was again ODI format with a prelude to ODI World Cup 2019.

So, as we wait for Team India’s official squad to announce this year’s Asia Cup, let’s look at the official squad for Team India for the last 3 Asia Cup in ODI format. To help you understand, the last ODI format Asia Cup were played in 2018, 2014, and 2012. Whereas the 2016 and 2022 Asia Cup was played in the T20 format. 

Asia Cup 2018 Official Squad List for Team India:

Batters: Ambati Rayudu, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vc)

WKs: Dinesh Karthik & MS Dhoni

All-roundersKedar Jadhav & Ravindra Jadeja

BowlersBhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Siddarth Kaul & Yuzvendra Chahal

The 2018 Asia Cup was played in UAE in the month of September.  Virat Kohli was rested for the marquee event, and in his absence, Rohit Sharma led the team with Shikhar Dhawan as his deputy. Dinesh Karthik and MS Dhoni were the primary wicket-keepers of the squad. The batting include Ambato Rayudu, KL Rahul, and Manish Pandey.

Kedar Jadhav and Ravindra Jadeja were the only designated all-rounders in the squad. The pace attack was led by Jasprit Bumrah, Deepak Chahar, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Whereas the spin attack was led by Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav. Overall, India selected a 16-member squad for this event, unlike the general trend of 15. 

Asia Cup 2014 Official Squad List for Team India:

Batters: Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan & Virat Kohli (c)

WKs: Ambati Rayudu & Dinesh Karthik

All-rounders: Ravindra Jadeja & Stuart Binny

Bowlers: Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishwar Pandey, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin & Varun Aaron

The 2014 Asia Cup was played in Bangladesh in Feb-March 2014. With MS Dhoni rested, Virat Kohli was given the opportunity to lead the team with Rohit Sharma as his deputy. Dinesh Karthik was the primary wicket-keeper in the absence of Dhoni with Rayudu as the backup keeper. The batting lineup had a few surprising names in the form of Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Ravindra Jadeja and Stuart Binny were the designated all-rounders in the squad. The pace attack was led by Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami. Whereas the spin attack was led by Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Mishra. The bowling also had a few surprising names in the form of Ishwar Pandey and Varun Aaron.

Asia Cup 2012 Official Squad List for Team India:

Batters: Gautam Gambhir, Manoj Tiwary, Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Suresh Raina & Virat Kohli (vc)

WKs: MS Dhoni (c)

All-rounders: Irfan Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja & Yusuf Pathan

Bowlers: Ashok Dinda, Praveen Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rahul Sharma & Vinay Kumar

Just a year after India’s ODI World Cup 2011 triumph, India played the 2012 Asia Cup in Bangladesh. Surprisingly, India played almost a full-strength squad with MS Dhoni at the helm. Virat Kohli was the Vice Captain with the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, and Rohit Sharma also in the squad. 

The bowling line-up was a revamp from the 2011 World Cup with Ashok Dinda, Praveen Kumar, and Vinay Kumar in the pace department. Whereas the spin department include Ravichandran Ashwin and Rahul Sharma. India played with 3 all-rounders in the form of Irfan Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, and Yusuf Pathan. 

Overall, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja remain the only two players to have been a part of the last three ODI format Asia Cup. They will also be the only two players to be a part of the 2023 Asia Cup. To recap, India won the 2018 ODI format Asia Cup under Rohit Sharma, but lost the 2014 and 2012 Asia Cup. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the last 3 Asia Cup squad list for Team India? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: Explained: The Latest Unique Format of the ODI World Cup 2023

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.