International Cricket

ODI World Cup 2023 Latest Unique Format Explained

India to host the 50-over Cup after 2011 as we look at the detailed explanation of the ODI World Cup 2023 format. 

After having seen the conclusion of another ICC Trophy in the form of the World Test Championship, the next in line is the 50-over ODI World Cup 2023. Unlike the WTC and the T20 World Cup, which generally happens every two years, the ODI World Cup happens every four years. 

Having seen the last ODI World Cup being played in England, India will host the upcoming World Cup in 2023. 2011 was the last time India hosted an ODI World Cup. Coincidently, that was also the tournament India won their second ODI World Cup. This year’s World Cup will be played in the Winter season of India – October & November.

A total of 10 teams will be participating in the ODI World Cup 2023. Unlike the previous World Cup, where teams were selected basis of ICC rankings and Qualifiers, the 2023 edition sees a different approach in which teams are selected. India along with 7 teams are selected basis of the World Super League Standings and 2 more shall be selected through qualifiers.

While India qualified directly being the hosts, the other 7 teams, namely Pakistan, Australia, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan have qualified basis the World Super League Standings. Apart from these, the big teams like Sri Lanka and West Indies will be featured in the Qualifies, scheduled to take place in June-July.            

ODI World Cup 2023 Format Details:

There will be Group Stage matches in the ODI World Cup 2023 format. This will be followed by Knockouts, which include two semi-finals and one final. In the Group stage, every team will join the other 9 teams once; thus a total of 45 Group stage matches. The top 4 teams will then play the Semi-finals before proceeding to the final. Overall, we will see a total of 48 matches being played in this World Cup.

The top 4 teams will be selected basis of the overall standings in the point table. However, in case of a tie, selection will be done based on the following priorities.

  1. Points
  2. Wins
  3. NRR
  4. Result of games between Tied Teams
  5. Pre Tournament Seeding

World Cup 2023 Qualifiers

Talking about the qualifiers, it will be played in Zimbabwe in June and July. A total of 10 teams will be featured in the tournament. The 10 teams include Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Ireland, Nepal, Oman, Scotland, UAE, and the United States. The top 2 finalists from the qualifiers shall qualify for the ODI World Cup 2023. The schedule for the ODI World Cup 2023 is not out yet as it is pending clearance from the local authorities in India.

However, it is most-likely to start on October 5 with the England vs New Zealand match. In terms of venues, the Indian team matches are supposed to be played in Chennai, Delhi, Ahmedabad, Pune, Dharamsala, Lucknow, Mumbai, Kolkata, and Bengaluru. Ahmedabad will host the grand India vs Pakistan match.  

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the ODI Cup 2023 format? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: WPL 2023 Auction: Complete Final Short-listed 409 Players List

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.