International Cricket

India vs West Indies 2023: Complete T20 Series Squad Players list

A total of 15 players get selected as we look at the complete official squad and players list for the 2023 India vs West Indies T20 series. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday, July 05 officially announced the squad for Team India for the 2023 T20 series vs the West Indies. The Indian team is going to play 5 T20Is following the Test and ODI series, and for that, the Ajit Agarkar-led selection committee has selected a 15-member squad. 

The strategy seems to be quite different and slim from that of the Test and ODI series. While BCCI selected a 16-member squad for the 2-match Test series and a 17-member team for the 3-match ODI series, they have chosen only 15 players for a 5-match T20I series.

The team has also undergone significant changes as compared to the squad that last played against New Zealand. In addition, considering the ODI World Cup 2023 or a focus on the future, a lot of senior players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, etc. have not been included in the T20I series. 

Key Changes:

The names that are missing in the current squad as compared to the ones that played the last T20I series against New Zealand are batters Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Rahul Tripathi, all-rounders Deepak Hooda and Washington Sundar, wicket-keeper Jitesh Sharma,  and pacer Shivam Mavi. 

The new names that have been added to the squad include exciting opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, solid middle-order batter Tilak Varma, wicket-keeper Sanju Samson, all-rounder Axar Patel, pacer Avesh Khan, and spinner Ravi Bishnoi. Interestingly, Team India have selected 4 spinners in the 15-member squad.

The selection seems interesting as Rahul Tripathi did decent in the New Zealand T20 series, but a poor IPL 2023 seems to be the reason for his exclusion. Same with Shivam Mavi, who did well in the New Zealand T20 series, but with no matches in IPL 2023, he seems to have taken the heat. 

Meanwhile, a blockbuster performance in IPL2023 sees Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma as a part of the T20I setup. Whereas Axar Patel and Sanju Samson make a comeback after missing the last T20 series. Interestingly, the Indian team has gone back to Avesh Khan, who has been poor at the International stage as well as in IPL 2023.

Overall, the Indian team has selected 15 players in the squad that consists of 4 batters, 2 wicket-keepers, 2 all-rounders, 4 pacers, and 3 spinners. Hardik Pandya shall lead the young side as has been the case with Suryakumar Yadav as his deputy.

India vs West Indies 2023 – Official T20 Series Squad and Players List:

Batters: Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Tilak Varma & Yashasvi Jaiswal

WKs: Ishan Kishan & Sanju Samson

All-rounders: Axar Patel & Hardik Pandya

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi, Umran Malik & Yuzvendra Chahal

 Meanwhile, here’s the T20 series schedule for India vs West Indies. 

India vs West Indies 2023 T20 Series Schedule:

  • 1st T20I @ Trinidad – August 03, 8 pm IST
  • 2nd T20I @ Guyana – August 06, 8 pm IST
  • 3rd T20I @ Guyana – August 08, 8 pm IST
  • 4th T20I @ Florida – August 12, 8 pm IST
  • 5th T20I @ Florida – August 13, 8 pm IST

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the squad for Team India for the 2023 T20 series vs West Indies? Please email your comments to 

ALSO READ:  India vs West Indies 2023: Complete Final Test Series Squad List

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.

One thought on “India vs West Indies 2023: Complete T20 Series Squad Players list

Comments are closed.