Test Cricket

India vs West Indies 2023: Complete Final Test Series Squad List

Cheteshwar Pujara dropped as we look at the complete official squad and players list for the 2023 India vs West Indies Test series. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the official Test series squad list for Team India 3 weeks ahead of the schedule. The 2-match Test series that begins on July 12 will see 16 members in the squad, unlike the WTC Final where only 15 players were allowed.

The team does see a few surprising but predictable changes as they prepare keeping the WTC 2023-25 cycle in mind. The two most significant changes that we can see from the previous WTC 2023 Final squad are the absence of Cheteshwar Pujara and Umesh Yadav.

Team India have decided to move on from the out-of-form and ageing Cheteshwar Pujara and Umesh Yadav in a bid to groom youngsters as this seems to be the best time for it. Both Pujara and Umesh had been struggling to perform, and it was only right for Team India decide to move on from them

Key Changes: 

In place of Pujara and Umesh Yadav, Team India got in Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Mukesh Kumar. This again seems a slightly surprising move considering both Ruturaj and Yashasvi are more of openers, but now either they will play one down or Shubman Gill will have to donn that role.  

In the pace department, Mukesh Kumar, who was a part of the reserves has given a go in place of Umesh Yadav. This seems a perfectly logical move as he has been travelling with the team for quite some time now. Additionally, Mukesh has received a maiden call-up in the ODI squad. 

Other than this, the Indian team has decided to rest Mohammed Shami considering the hectic schedule. While resting Shami is fine, the player who replaces Shami, Navdeep Saini was nowhere to be considered for Red-ball cricket. But suddenly replaces Shami as the fifth pacer in the squad. 

In addition, Team India went against the idea of having Suryakumar Yadav in the Test squad. SKY was a part of the backup players list that went to England for the WTC final. However, the team went against the idea to have him in the squad as they are now considering SKY only in limited-overs cricket. 

Overall, Team India have selected 6 pure batters, 2 wicket-keepers, 4 all-rounders, and 4 pure pacers in the squad. So, here’s the official squad and players list for Team India for the Test series vs West Indies.  

India vs West Indies 2023 – Official Test Series Squad and Players List for Team India:

Ajinkya Rahane [vc], Rohit Sharma [c], Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ishan Kishan [wk], KS Bharat [wk], Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar & Navdeep Saini

The West Indies team is currently playing in the World Cup 2023 Qualifiers in Zimbabwe. They are yet to announce their official Test series squad, but expect them to announce a week before the Test series. Meanwhile, here’s the official schedule for the India vs West Indies 2023 Test series. 

India vs West Indies 2023 Test Series Schedule:

  • 1st Test – July 12-16 @ Dominica, 7:30 pm IST onwards
  • 2nd Test – July 20-24 @ Trinidad, 7:30 pm IST onwards

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the squad for Team India for the Test series vs West Indies? Please email your comments to cric8fanatic@gmail.com 

ALSO READ: Exclusive: Ranking Best 6 Teams Performance in ICC Tournaments

© Cric8fanatic

Sonal Jain

Sonal is an experienced cricket author with over 5 years of experience in the field. She follows Indian cricket to the core with a deep interest in the Indian Premier League, World Cup, IPL 2024, etc.

3 thoughts on “India vs West Indies 2023: Complete Final Test Series Squad List

Comments are closed.