Cricket News

India vs Australia 2023: Full Official T20 Squad and Players List

A total of 16 players get selected as we look at the complete official squad and players list for the 2023 India vs Australia T20 series. 

It’s been only a day since India faced a defeat in the 2023 World Cup final, but the Indian team and their fans are already gearing up for the next assignment, the T20 series vs Australia. To kick-start the tournament, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday, November 20 officially announced the squad for India the Indian team for the 2023 T20 series vs Australia.

As expected, the Indian team have given rest to the senior players who were a part of the ODI squad, and also to a few key T20 players, who otherwise would have been a part of the squad. A total of 15 players have been selected for the 5-match T20 series that starts on November 23. In addition to the 15 players, Shreyas Iyer will join the squad for the fourth and fifth T20I as the Vice Captain.

The 5-match T20 series begins on November 23, and will conclude on December 3. While India will be without key players like Shubman Gill, Jasprit Bumrah, etc., Australia is playing almost a full-fledged squad. Thus the tournament will act as a good practice point for the upcoming T20 World Cup. So, here’s the official squad for India and Australia for the 2023 5-match T20 series. 

Key Changes:

If we compare the squad that played the Asian Games, the batters almost remain the same except for Suryakumar Yadav, who has been added to the squad in place of Rahul Tripathi. Suryakumar Yadav will also lead the squad in place of Hardik Pandya, who seems to need more time to recover from his ankle injury. Whereas Ruturaj Gaikwad shall be his deputy. 

From the wicket-keepers standpoint, Ishan Kishan retains his place. But Sanju Samson, unfortunately, misses out, and Jitesh Sharma takes his place. It’s unfortunate for Sanju Samson, who definitely didn’t do anything wrong to get omitted. From the All-rounders, Hardik Pandya misses out, but Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, and Washington Sundar form for a good mix of all-rounders.

In terms of bowlers, two big names that miss out are Yuzvendra Chahal and Umran Malik. It seems the Indian team has finally moved on from Yuzvendra Chahal, and they don’t seem to trust the bowling of Umran Malik in the shortest format. In their absence, Arshdeep Singh and Ravi Bishnoi shall lead the pace bowling and spin bowling duties respectively. So, here’s the official squad for India and Australia for the T20 series. 

India vs Australia 2023 – Official T20 Squad List for Indian Team:

Batters: Rinku Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Shreyas Iyer (4th & 5th T20I), Suryakumar Yadav (c), Tilak Varma & Yashasvi Jaiswal

WKs: Ishan Kishan & Jitesh Sharma

All-rounders: Axar Patel, Shivam Dube & Washington Sundar

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Prasidh Krishna & Ravi Bishnoi

For Australia, Matthew Wade shall lead the side in the absence of Mitchell Marsh. While Australia are almost playing a full-fledged side, the key players that miss out are David Warner, Cameron Green, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, and Josh Hazlewood. 

India vs Aus 2023 Official T20 Squad List for Australia:

Batters: Aaron Hardie, Matthew Short, Steve Smith, Tim David & Travis Head

WKs: Josh Inglis & Matthew Wade (c)

All-rounders: Glenn Maxwell & Marcus Stoinis 

Bowlers: Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Ellis, Sean Abbott, Spencer Johnson & Tanveer Sangha 

 Meanwhile, here’s the 2023 T20 series schedule for India vs Australia. All T20 matches shall begin at 7 pm IST. 

India vs Australia 2023 T20 Series Schedule:

  • 1st T20I – Nov 23 @ Vizag
  • 2nd T20I – Nov 26 @ Trivandrum
  • 3rd T20I – Nov 28 @ Guwahati
  • 4th T2OI – Dec 1 @ Nagpur
  • 5th T20I – Dec 3 @ Hyderabad 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the squad for Team India for the 2023 T20 series vs Australia? Please email your comments to 

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli’s Dominance vs Australia in ODIs

© Cric8fanatic

Sonal Jain

Sonal is an experienced cricket author with over 5 years of experience in the field. She follows Indian cricket to the core with a deep interest in the Indian Premier League, World Cup, IPL 2024, etc.