Indian Premier League

IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals Full Retained Squad Players List

IPL 2024 – Delhi Capitals retain 16 players as we look at their complete retained and released squad and players list for DC.

The Delhi Capitals begin their 2024 campaign on a happy note as their star batter and leader, Rishabh Pant is set to join the team as the captain for IPL 2024. Pant had to unfortunately miss the 2023 campaign after having suffered a major accident. The injury forced him to miss cricketing action for more than a year, but with recovery insight, he is expected to be fit for IPL 2024. 

With Rishabh Pant back in the squad, Delhi Capitals have made some tactical changes in their squad. They have retained a total of 16 players including 4 overseas players for IPL 2024. They have retained a total of 3 batters, 2 wicket-keepers, 3 all-rounders, 5 pacers, and 3 spinners ahead of the IPL 2024 Auction. 

Delhi Capitals have a total of 9 spots left to fill, and their kitty has INR 28.95 Cr with them. This is a good enough purse to buy 2-3 good players and good backups in the squad. So, with the Auction set to begin in a few weeks, let’s before that, analyze the retained players, released players, and potential playing 11 for IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals ahead of the Auction. 


Batters & WKs – 5

David Warner (o), Prithvi Shaw, Yash Dhull, Abhishek Porel (wk) & Rishabh Pant (c&wk)

Delhi Capitals have focused on retaining their core, and their core comprises of primary openers, David Warner and Prithvi Shaw. In addition to these two, Yash Dhull is the only name in the batters category. With these three retentions, Delhi Capitals have let go of Indin batters Manish Pandey, Priyam Garg, and Sarfaraz Khan.

From the overseas batters, the Delhi Capitals have released Rovman Powell, Phil Salt, and Rille Rossouw. This is significant overall for Capitals as they will need to invest more batters in the Auction. Meanwhile, from the wicket-keepers, Rishabh Pant shall remain the primary retained wicket-keeper with Abhishek Porel being his backup. 

All-rounders – 3

Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav & Mitchell Marsh (o)

Coming to the All-rounders, Delhi Capitals have retained only three players, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, and Mitchell Marsh. All three are potential options for first-choice playing 11. With these retained all-rounders, the other all-rounders that Delhi released are Aman Khan and Ripal Patel.

Bowlers – 8

Anrich Nortje (o), Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi (o), Mukesh Kumar, Pravin Dubey & Vicky Ostwal

Talking about the bowlers, Delhi have retained 5 pacers and 3 spinners. Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, and Mukesh Kumar are the pacers retained by Delhi Capitals. Whereas Kuldeep Yadav, Pravin Dubey, and Vicky Ostwal are the spinners retained by Delhi. Among the released bowlers, the key names are Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya, and Kamlesh Nagarkoti. 

IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals Final Retained Squad and Players List

David Warner (o), Prithvi Shaw, Yash Dhull, Abhishek Porel (wk), Rishabh Pant (c&wk), Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh (o), Anrich Nortje (o), Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi (o), Mukesh Kumar, Pravin Dubey & Vicky Ostwal

Total Players Retained: 16 // Purse Left: 28.95 Cr

IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals Released Players List

Aman Khan, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Manish Pandey, Mustafizur Rahman (o), Phil Salt (o), Priyam Garg, Rilee Rossouw (o), Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell (o) & Sarfaraz Khan

IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals Retained Players Best Playing 11

Finally, talking about the current strongest playing 11 for IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals, we have David Warner and Prithvi Shaw as openers, Mitchell Marsh shall take the number 3 spot with Rishabh Pant at 4, Yash Dhull at 5, Axar Patel at 6, Lalit Yadav at 7. The bowling shall comprise Anrich Nortje, Mukesh Kumar, Lungi Ngidi, and Kuldeep Yadav. Overall, the team needs good finishers to complete their strongest playing 11.

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals retained Squad and Players list? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Retained Squad Players List

© Cric8fanatic

Sonal Jain

Sonal is an experienced cricket author with over 5 years of experience in the field. She follows Indian cricket to the core with a deep interest in the Indian Premier League, World Cup, IPL 2024, etc.