Indian Premier League

IPL 2024 GT Squad Updated Players List – Gujarat Titans

Shubman Gill Captain for Gujarat Titans as we look at the IPL 2024 GT squad and the updated new players list.

Probably the team that created the maximum noise ahead of the Auction, the Gujarat Titans were in the news, and the reason was Hardik Pandya. In an unexpected scene of, Gujarat Titans’ Captain Hardik Pandya was traded to Mumbai Indians for an undisclosed transfer amount. The reasons are still unknown as to why Hardik would leave a team like Gujarat, where he was the Captain, and competed two successful seasons. 

Nevertheless, with Hardik not there, Shubman Gill was announced as the Captain of the IPL 2024 GT squad. With Shubman at the helm, GT are surely looking at him to lead them for solid 8-10 seasons; unless of course Shubman Gill too tries to make a shock exit. However, focusing on the current year, it is a great opportunity for Shubman, who may as well assume Team India’s captaincy in the near future.

Overall, ahead of the Auction, GT had retained 17 players. They were looking for a replacement for Hardik Pandya in the Auction, but the best like-for-like replacement they got was Azmatullah Omerzai. In addition to Omerzai, GT added 7 more players in the squad thus completing the squad of 25. So, with the official players list in front of us, let’s look at the IPL 2024 GT squad list post the Auction. 


IPL 2024 GT Squad and New Players List:

Batters – Abhinav Manohar, David Miller (o), Kane Williamson (o), Sai Sudharshan & Shubman Gill (c)

Gujarat Titans had retained 5 batters in the form of Abhinav Manohar, David Miller, Kane Williamson, Sai Sudharshan, and Shubman Gill. GT didn’t feel the need to add another batter to the squad, and these five shall remain as the primary batters in the squad. Overall, it is a great set of batters, and all 5 have the capability to be in the final playing 11. 

WKs – Matthew Wade (o), Robin Minz & Wriddhiman Saha 

Coming to the Wicket-keepers, GT had two keepers in the form of Matthew Wade and Wriddhiman Saha. In addition to these two, GT added the hard-hitting wicket-keeper from Jharkhand, Robin Minz. 

Spin All-rounders – Jayant Yadav & Rahul Tewatia

Pace All-rounders – Azmatullah Omerzai (o), Shahrukh Khan & Vijay Shankar

Coming to spin All-rounders, GT have only two players in the form of Jayant Yadav and Rahul Tewatia. However, for the pace all-rounders, GT added Azmatullah Omerzai and Shahrukh Khan with Vijay Shankar already there.

Spinners – Manav Suthar, Noor Ahmad (o), R Sai Kishore & Rashid Khan (o)

For the spin department, GT had three strong names in the form of Noor Ahmad, R Sai Kishore, and Rashid Khan. With no need for an extra quality spinner, GT only added Manav Suthar as a good backup option. 

Pacers – Darshan Nalkande, Joshua Little (o), Kartik Tyagi, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Spencer Johnson (o), Sushant Mishra & Umesh Yadav

Coming to the pace department, GT have that in plenty with as many as 8 names in the squad. While Darshan Nalkande, Kartik Tyagi, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, and Umesh Yadav are right-arm pacers, Joshua Little, Spencer Johnson, and Sushant Mishra are left-arm pacers. Overall, Mohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami, and Spencer Johnson are the three leading pacers in the squad. 

IPL 2024 GT Squad and Latest New Players List: 

Batters: Abhinav Manohar, David Miller (o), Kane Williamson (o), Sai Sudharshan & Shubman Gill (c)

WKs: Matthew Wade (o), Robin Minz & Wriddhiman Saha 

All-rounders: Azmatullah Omerzai (o), Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Shahrukh Khan & Vijay Shankar

Bowlers: Darshan Nalkande, Joshua Little (o), Kartik Tyagi, Manav Suthar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad (o), R Sai Kishore, Rashid Khan (o), Spencer Johnson (o), Sushant Mishra & Umesh Yadav

So, that’s about the official IPL 2024 GT squad and players list. Talking about the strong first-choice playing 11 looking at the IPL 2024 GT squad, we should see Shubman Gill and Wriddhiman Saha opening the innings. Sai Sudharsan should play at number 3 with David Miller and Shahrukh Khan at 4 and 5 respectively. GT can play Kane Williamson at 4, but Omerzai’s all-round abilities could be preferred, and he can play as a finisher with Rahul Tewatia. The bowling shall be led by Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, and Spencer Johnson. 

IPL 2024 Gujarat Titans First-choice Playing 11 for GT:

Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha, Sai Sudharsan, David Miller, Shahrukh Khan, Rahul Tewatia, Azmatullah Omerzai, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami & Spencer Johnson. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the IPL 2024 GT squad and Gujarat Titans players list? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: IPL 2024 Squad List and All 10 Teams Official Players Details

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.