Women's Premier League

TATA WPL 2024 Players List Final Squad Details for All 5 Teams

A total of 90 players in focus as we look at the TATA WPL 2024 players list and squad details for all 5 teams post the auction. 

The second edition of the much-awaited Women’s Premier League kick-started with a bang with the WPL 2024 Auction. As many as 165 players went under the hammer as teams accumulated a total of 30 more players. The 5 teams that play in the tournament now have a total of 90 players combined, and are ready to showcase their talent in the WPL 2024.

Uncapped Indian players Kashvee Gautam and Vrinda Dinesh were the key attractions in the Auction as they went for INR 2 Cr and INR 1.3 Cr respectively at a base price of INR 10L. From the overseas players, Australia’s Annabel Sutherland and South Africa’s Shabnim Ismail were the star attractions as they went for a price of INR 2 Cr and INR 1.2 Cr respectively. 

So, with the Auction now done and dusted, we now have the official squad and players list for all 5 teams for WPL 2024. So, let’s break down the squad for all 5 teams into batters, wicket-keepers, all-rounders, and bowlers categories, and look at the TATA WPL 2024 players list and official squad details for all 5 teams post the auction. 

#1: Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals had the maximum players retained ahead of the Auction at 15. They purchased only 3 players in the form of Aparna Mondel, Annabel Sutherland, and Ashwani Kumar. Aparna Mondal remains the only wicket-keeper to have been purchased in the Auction. Overall, Annabel Sutherland was the star attraction for Delhi as she went at the highest price for the day at INR 2 Cr. 

TATA WPL 2024 Players List and Squad Details for Delhi Capitals (DC W)

Batters: Jemimmah Rodrigues, Laura Harris (o), Meg Lanning (o), Shafali Verma & Sneha Deepthi

WKs: Taniya Bhatia & Aparna Mondal

All-rounders: Alice Capsey (o), Arundhati Reddy, Jess Jonassen (o), Marizanne Kapp (o), Minnu Mani, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Annabel Sutherland (o) & Ashwani Kumari

Bowlers: Poonam Yadav & Titas Sadhu 

Total Players: 18

#2: Gujarat Giants

Gujarat Giants had retained the least number of players ahead of the WPL 2024 Auction, and as expected, they purchased the maximum number of players, 10. GG purchased Phoebe Litchfield, Trisha Poojitha, and Veda Krishnamurthy among batters, Kathryn Bryce, Kashvee Gautam, Mannat Kashyap, Meghna Singh, and Tarannum Pathan among all-rounders, and Lauren Cheatle and Priya Mishra amoung bowlers. 

TATA WPL 2024 Players List and Squad Details for Gujarat Giants

Batters: Laura Wolvaardt (o), Phoebe Litchfield (o), Trisha Poojitha & Veda Krishnamurthy 

WKs: Beth Mooney (o)

All-rounders: Ashleigh Gardner (o), Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwer, Kathryn Bryce (o), Kashvee Gautam, Mannat Kashyap, Meghna Singh & Tarannum Pathan 

Bowlers: Shabnam Shakil, Lauren Cheatle (o) & Priya Mishra

Total Players: 18

#3: Mumbai Indians

The defending champions, Mumbai Indians purchased 5 players in the Auction after having retained a total of 13 players. While Amandeep Kaur, Keertana Balakrishnan & S. Sanjana are the purchased all-rounders, Fatima Jaffer, and Shabnim Ismail are the purchased bowlers. Surprisingly, the team doesn’t have a specialized batter, and it has a combination of 2 wicket-keepers, 13 all-rounders, and 3 frontline bowlers.

TATA WPL 2024 Players List and Squad Details for Mumbai Indians W

Batters: None

WKs: Priyanka Bala & Yastika Bhatia

All-rounders: Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr (o), Chloe Tryon (o), Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews (o), Humaira Kazi, Isabelle Wong (o), Jintamani Kalita, Nat Sciver (o), Pooja Vastrakar, Amandeep Kaur, Keertana Balakrishnan & S. Sanjana

Bowlers: Saika Ishaque, Fatima Jaffer & Shabnim Ismail (o)

Total Players: 18

#4: Royal Challengers Bangalore

The most celebrated franchise in IPL and WPL combined, the Royal Challengers Bangalore had a decent WPL 2024 Auction with a maximum purchase price of INR 60 lakhs for Ekta Bisht. Overall, RCB W purchased 7 players in the Auction in the form of Georgia Wareham, Sabbhineni Meghana, Subha Satheesh, Sophie Molineux, Ekta Bisht, Kate Cross, and Simran Bahudar.

TATA WPL 2024 Players List and Squad Details for Royal Challengers Bangalore W

Batters: Disha Kasat & Smriti Mandhana

WKs: Indrani Roy & Richa Ghosh

All-rounders: Asha Shobana, Ellyse Perry (o), Heather Knight (o), Kanika Ahuja, Shreyanka Patil & Sophie Devine (o), Georgia Wareham (o), Sabbhineni Meghana, Subha Satheesh & Sophie Molineux (o)

Bowlers: Renuka Singh, Ekta Bisht, Kate Cross (o) & Simran Bahudar.

Total Players: 18

#5: UP Warriorz

Finally, talking about UP Warriorz, the team had space for 5 players, and they filled those gaps by adding Danny Wyatt, Vrinda Dinesh, Poonam Khemnar, Saima Thakor, and Gouher Sultana. But the star of the day has been Vrinda Dinesh for UP Warriorz who was acquired for a solid price of INR 1.3 Cr. 

TATA WPL 2024 Players List and Squad Details for UP Warriorz (WPW)

Batters: Kiran Navgire, Shweta Sehrawat, Danny Wyatt & Vrinda Dinesh

WKs: Alyssa Healy (o) & Laxmi Yadav

All-rounders: Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris, Parshavi Chopra, S. Yashasri, Sophie Ecclestone (o), Tahlia McGrath (o),  Poonam Khemnar & Saima Thakor

Bowlers: Anjali Sarvani, Lauren Bell (o), Rajeshwari Gayakwad & Gouher Sultana

Total Players: 18

So, that’s about the complete official TATA WPL 2024 Players list and squad details for all 5 teams. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the TATA WPL 2024 Players list and squad details for all 5 teams? Please email your thoughts to business@cric8fanatic.com

ALSO READ: IPL 2024 RCB Squad – Full Retained and Released Players List

© Cric8fanatic

Adesh Kothari

Adesh is an author at Cric8fanatic with over 20 years of experience following Cricket. Cricket to him is like what 'Football is to Lionel Messi', 'Singing is to Lata Mangeshkar', 'Dancing is to Michael Jackson', and what 'Acting is to Clint Eastwood'. Besides his effervescent love for Cricket, Adesh is an MBA by qualification.

3 thoughts on “TATA WPL 2024 Players List Final Squad Details for All 5 Teams

Comments are closed.